top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTyler Pounds

Week 7 QEM Internship Experience

This week from the National Science Foundation we had personalized training in how to better promote more positive mentor/mentee relationships. I also am finalizing my data collection at the NSF as we only have 3 more weeks left at the National Science Foundation. My time here is winding down fast. It is strange, because even though I have been here for the past 6 weeks. It has gone by really fast. Yesterday I went to the National Zoo. I had a spectacular time and learned even more about how different cultures interact and are promoting conservation efforts for the plants and animals around them. As an Ecological Anthropologist and an Ethnobiologist the trip to the national zoo was actually (for me) somewhat of career enrichment. This next coming up week I should be meeting with Dr. Joyce Parker, who is the National Program Manager for the USDA. She also went to New Mexico State University (MY SCHOOL!). We are going to have coffee sometime soon and discuss how my qualifications could be utilized for the USDA and what possible career opportunities and options I would have with the USDA after I graduate. So far I have enjoyed my time in Washington, D.C. and look forward to seeing how this internship propels my career.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 9 Internship QEM/NSF

Week 9 of the Internship at NSF was good. I got all of my data entered for the NSF. The project I am working on is for the Geosciences Directorate overall as well as OCE/AGS/EAR Divisions respectively

Week 8 Internship QEM/NSF

This week was good. I finished up the "white paper" at the NSF for publishing. Its over arctic funding and polar programs. Thats all I can say at the moment as some of the information is supposed to r

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page